--- title: "Dashboard Administration | ThreatConnect" slug: "dashboard-administration" description: "This article describes how to access the dashboard administration features on the Dashboard screen and the function of each administrative option." tags: ["Analytical Tools"] updated: 2024-08-20T17:52:10Z published: 2024-08-20T17:52:10Z canonical: "knowledge.threatconnect.com/dashboard-administration" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://knowledge.threatconnect.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Dashboard Administration ## Overview When working with a dashboard in ThreatConnect®, you can perform a variety of administrative actions, such as copying, renaming, sharing, deleting, and exporting the dashboard; setting the dashboard as a default dashboard for either your user account or the entire Organization; and saving a dashboard as a System-level dashboard. The administrative options available to you depend on the role assigned to your user account and ownership of the selected dashboard. ## Before You Start ### User Roles - To set a dashboard as the default dashboard for your user account, your user account can have any [Organization role](https://knowledge.threatconnect.com/docs/organization-roles). - To copy, rename, share, and delete custom dashboards you created, your user account can have any Organization role. - To copy, rename, and share custom dashboards another user in your Organization shared, your user account can have any Organization role. - To copy System-level dashboards, including built-in dashboards, your user account can have any Organization role. - To delete any dashboards shared in an Organization and set any shared dashboard as the default Organization-level dashboard, your user account must have an Organization role of Organization Administrator. - To rename, share, and delete System-level dashboards that are not built-in dashboards and save any dashboard as a System-level dashboard, your user account must have a [System role](https://knowledge.threatconnect.com/docs/threatconnect-system-roles-and-permissions) of Administrator. ### Prerequisites - To copy, rename, share, and delete dashboards, turn on custom dashboards for your Organization on the **Account Settings** screen (must be an Accounts Administrator, Operations Administrator, or System Administrator to perform this action). ## Administrating a Dashboard Follow these steps to access and use the dashboard administration menu: 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard to open the dashboard administration menu, and then select one of the following options: - [**Copy Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#copying-a-dashboard) - [**Rename Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#renaming-a-dashboard) - [**Share Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#sharing-a-dashboard) - [**Delete Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#deleting-a-dashboard) - [**Export Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#exporting-a-dashboard) - [**Set as My Default Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#setting-a-dashboard-as-your-default-dashboard) - [**Save as System Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#saving-a-dashboard-as-a-system-dashboard) - [**Set as Organization Default Dashboard**](/docs/dashboard-administration#setting-a-dashboard-as-the-default-dashboard-for-an-organization) ImportantDepending on the role assigned to your user account and ownership of the selected dashboard, the dashboard administration menu may display only a subset of these options. For example, only Organization Administrators can set a shared dashboard as the default dashboard for their Organization, and only the user who created a custom dashboard will be able to rename, share, export, or delete it. ### Copying a Dashboard Follow these steps to copy a dashboard: 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Copy Dashboard**. 3. On the **Copy Dashboard** window, enter a unique name for the copy of the dashboard, and then click **SAVE**. After the dashboard copy is created, it will be listed under the **My Dashboards** section of the **Dashboard** menu for your user account. ### Renaming a Dashboard Follow these steps to rename a dashboard that you have permission to edit: 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Rename Dashboard**. 3. On the **Rename Dashboard** window, enter a unique name for the dashboard, and then click **SAVE**. ### Sharing a Dashboard Follow these steps to share a dashboard you have permission to share (i.e., create a copy of a dashboard that will be listed under **Shared Dashboards** in the **Dashboard** menu for all users in your Organization): 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Share Dashboard**. 3. On the **Share Dashboard** window, enter a unique name for the copy of the dashboard that will be shared, and then click **SAVE**. ### Deleting a Dashboard Follow these steps to delete a dashboard that you have permission to delete: 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Delete Dashboard**. Then click **CONFIRM** on the **Delete Dashboard?** window. ### Exporting a Dashboard For instructions on exporting a dashboard, see *[Exporting and Importing Dashboards](https://knowledge.threatconnect.com/docs/exporting-and-importing-dashboards)*. ### Setting a Dashboard as Your Default Dashboard Follow these steps to set a dashboard as your default dashboard: 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Set as My Default Dashboard**. The selected dashboard will now be shown each time you log into ThreatConnect or navigate to the **Dashboard** screen. NoteIf you set a dashboard as your default dashboard, this selection will be retained even if an Organization Administrator sets a different default dashboard for your Organization. ### Saving a Dashboard as a System Dashboard Follow these steps to create a copy of a dashboard that will be listed under **System Dashboards** in the **Dashboard** menu for all users on the ThreatConnect instance (must be a System Administrator to perform these steps): 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Save as System Dashboard**. 3. On the **Save As System Dashboard** window, enter a unique name for the copy of the dashboard, and then click **SAVE**. ### Setting a Dashboard as the Default Dashboard for an Organization Follow these steps while viewing a shared dashboard to set the dashboard as the default dashboard for all users in your Organization (must be an Organization Administrator to perform these steps): 1. Hover over **Dashboard** on the top navigation bar and select a dashboard to open. 2. Click the **⋮** menu at the upper-right corner of the dashboard and select **Set as Organization Default Dashboard**. The selected dashboard will now be shown each time a user in your Organization logs into ThreatConnect or navigates to the **Dashboard** screen. NoteUsers in your Organization who have previously set their own default dashboards will retain that selection. In addition, users may override the Organization default dashboard by selecting a different dashboard as their default. --- *ThreatConnect® is a registered trademark of ThreatConnect, Inc.* 20044-07 v.16.A